I did it!! – Journal (day13)

We’re almost there guys. I’ve been working on all my display objects and waiting on the banner we finally ordered.

2-Day

I have two days before the actual show and my excitement and stress are at an all-time high. We’re waiting on the banner and still have a few more things to finish up. Painting out these words on fabric is harder than I thought and, though I didn’t want to, I waited a bit till last minute to start the process. However, with my sister’s help I got to finish the painting in time.

1-Day

The day before is relaxing, but still highly stressful. I’m not sure that makes much sense. We’ve been combating the stress with our favourite shows and jokes. Still painting and getting final touch ups done. We’ve created a checklist and have put what we need in box for easy carry. Now to get sleep and wait for the morning.

D-Day

“Today is the day and I am running late. I don’t think it will be so bad though, it shouldn’t take long for set up.” But oh how wrong I was. I was working on the banner till the eleventh minute. The banner didn’t have the holes used to hang it, that was per request. But we were told that we would be getting tape strong enough to hold it. That did not happen. We get a last minute call that the tape they had wasn’t strong enough for the banner. Sigh…I don’t know what to about this but I don’t feel like thinking about it. So with help from my sister and classmates I am just trying to get the rest of the exhibition up.

But even more good news for the day comes from my dancers. All three girls have a class the very time of my event and, I’m guessing, though they were ‘trying to work it out’, is that the performance element is complete shot. I’m under so much pressure that I want to just stop. Unfortunately, I can’t. I want this event to happen, I want to see this vision come to life. I will just have one less element to execute.

The banner, the banner is still on the ground! I finally get someone to help with hanging the banner and he takes maybe thirty minutes to do so. I’m so glad for that and I get the banner up around 5 pm – an hour before my event. My sister has left to go home and change and bring my change of clothes too. I am frantic, not stressed, just frantic. Honestly, Ms. Gore’s presence and constant nagging made it hard not to be stressed when pointing out things I am aware of in such a worried manner. I’m not worried! I was also not in the mood for anyone trying to make me worry or lose my cool and then breakdown.

I made it. With all the pressure, I made it through the night. There were changes to the programming, obviously, but the people present found the whole thing enjoyable. Plus…I got a few books sold too! Please note that these books were for display and persons still felt the need to buy them. I was proud and happy with the outcome and just straight up relieved that everything was done. Now to go home and sleep.

 

Leave a Reply

